Kia ora bloggers!!!

I recently asked the class to share their favourite shortcut so I thought it only fair that I share mine. My favourite shortcut helps me to make ‘macrons’. A macron is the line you see above vowels to indicate that the vowel has a long vowel sound. This is very useful because I’m making a big effort to use more Māori words.

All you do is hold the letter down and a menu appears.

Then you select the mark you want. These marks are called diacritical marks. This link will explain more about them. They are used in lots of different languages.

I used to find the words with the macrons on the internet and copy and paste them into my document. Often I’d have to change the size and font as well so this is a big timesaver! Thank you Basma for showing this to me.

I hope this is useful to you someday. Please share your favourite shortcut.

Noho ora mai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *